Diagnosis disability

Since 2007, the Yes to Life Foundation has promoted the advice and assistance given at University Children's Hospital in Mainz after just such diagnoses during pregnancy. Claudia Langanki, a social worker, advises pregnant women and parents when their unborn child has been diagnosed with an abnormality. "In my experience, many gynecologists push to abort too quickly and too far into a pregnancy," says the counselor. "My job is to educate the parents about the disability - but always with the aim to show perspectives on life," says Claudia Langanki, who had a son born with Spina Bifida almost 22 years ago. "And even in a wheelchair," she says, "one does have life perspectives.

About 95 percent of pregnant women who come to her for advice opt for their child, says Claudia Langanki. She has never experienced that parents regretted making that decision. "I was advising a woman who before the birth was almost panicked," says the social worker. Just recently, she received a visit from the young mother with her child in her arms. The woman thanked Claudia Langanki: "Without you, our daughter would not have been born."

Giving perspective, providing education, offering advice - Claudia Langanki meets these requirements with life. Her job, she says, does not have fixed working hours; she is accessible to her clients even on weekends. "When, on Friday, a woman learns that she is expecting a disabled child, I cannot put her off until Monday." She accompanies the parents to all medical examinations and interviews. It helps that she has a good relationship of trust with the doctors at the University Hospital in Mainz, says Langanki. Even after the baby has been born and discharged from the hospital she continues to be there for the families. 

Read a true story from the daily work life of Mrs. Langanki (german).

Advice and assistance when facing diagnoses during pregnancy

Qualified social worker Claudia Langanki
Children's Hospital, University Hospital Mainz
Langenbeckstr. 1
55101 Mainz

Phone in the University Children's Hospital of Mainz:
+49-6131-175370 or mobile: +49-170-2377475

Besuchen Sie unser Facebook-Profil

Concept, design and programming TYPO3:
Logo Gute Botschafter GmbH Gute Botschafter GmbH

Diagnose Behinderung

Seit 2007 fördert die Stiftung Ja zum Leben die Beratung und Begleitung bei Diagnose in der Schwangerschaft an der Universitätskinderklinik in Mainz. Die Sozialpädagogin Claudia Langanki berät dort Schwangere bzw. Eltern nach einer Auffälligkeitsdiagnose ihres ungeborenen Kindes. "Meiner Erfahrung nach drängen viele Gynäkologen viel zu schnell und auch bei weit fortgeschrittener Schwangerschaft zum Abbruch.", sagt die Beraterin. "Meine Aufgabe ist es, über die Behinderung aufzuklären - aber immer mit dem Ziel, Lebensperspektiven zu zeigen", betont Claudia Langanki, die vor knapp 22 Jahren selbst einen Sohn mit Spina bifida bekam. "Und Lebensperspektiven", sagt sie, "hat man auch im Rollstuhl."

Rund 95 Prozent der Schwangeren, die zu ihr in die Beratung kommen, entscheiden sich für ihr Kind, sagt Claudia Langanki; sie habe noch nie erlebt, dass Eltern diese Entscheidung bereut hätten. "Ich hatte eine Frau in der Beratung, die war vor der Geburt geradezu panisch", erzählt die Sozialpädagogin. Kürzlich erst bekam sie Besuch von der jungen Mutter, mit ihrer Kleinen auf dem Arm. Die Frau bedankte sich bei Claudia Langanki: "Ohne Sie wäre unsere Tochter nicht geboren worden."

Perspektive geben, Aufklärung leisten, Beratung bieten - Claudia Langanki erfüllt diesen Anspruch mit Leben. Ihr Job, sagt sie, sei keiner mit festen Arbeitszeiten; sie ist für ihre Klienten auch am Wochenende erreichbar. "Wenn eine Frau am Freitag erfährt, dass sie ein behindertes Kind erwartet, kann ich sie nicht auf Montag vertrösten." Sie begleitet die Eltern zu allen Untersuchungen und Gesprächen, dabei helfe das gute Vertrauensverhältnis, das sie zu den Ärzten in der Uniklinik in Mainz habe, betont Langanki. Auch nach der Geburt und der Entlassung des Babys aus der Klinik ist sie weiter für die Familien da. 

Lesen Sie hier eine wahre Geschichte aus dem täglichen Arbeitsleben von Frau Langanki.

Beratung und Begleitung bei Diagnose in der Schwangerschaft

Dipl. soc. paed. Claudia Langanki
Kinderklinik der Universitätsklinik Mainz
Langenbeckstr. 1
55101 Mainz

Telefon in der Universitäts-Kinderklinik Mainz:
06131-175370 oder mobil: 0170-2377475

Besuchen Sie unser Facebook-Profil

Konzeption, Design und TYPO3-Programmierung:
Logo Gute Botschafter GmbH Gute Botschafter GmbH